help | home | search messages | profile

@home Message Board

Why are you here?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
chris otahal

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:37 am    Post subject: Why are you here? Reply with quote

Hi All,

Just wondering why you are volunteering your time with this project.

So, to get things started.....

I'm a wildlife biologist living in southern California, USA. My passion is wildlife conservation - with a special interest in birds. I think this project is a great opportunity to do some valuable work for conservation. It is so important to get all of this historical data available to the general public - get it out there where it can be used! Its also very interesting looking at some of these specimens - some over 100 years old. I just hope that someone will be looking at my work 100 years from now and finding it valuable Very Happy

Anyway, that's a little about me. You can find out a bit more about my bird work on my web site: http://conservebirdhabitat.com

It would be great to hear from others!

Take Care,
Chris
rudolfthered

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:32 am    Post subject: I am here because Reply with quote

I read about this site in The Economist.

They had a special technology section in the 12/8 issue and herbaria@home was mentioned in an article about this type of user and institution relationship. It made me curious and here I am.

I am a Land Surveyor by trade and have always been facinated with old documents, mainly maps. Reading and trying to decipher 100+ year old handwriting is fun and interesting for me. I am glad ya'll are are here with me sharing this 21st century experience.

I love the internet.

~James Crupi
Cottonwood, CA, USA
hallucigenia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:05 pm    Post subject: Why? Reply with quote

Dear All
I am retired to Lot, Midi-Pyrenees, France some six years ago.